
PERSONAL INJURY COMPENSATION
APPLICATION 

JD-VS-8PI 10/16

SECTION 1 – VICTIM INFORMATION 

We are here to help. If you have any questions about filling out this application or the Victim Compensation Program, 

please call us toll-free at 1-888-286-7347. Please know that it is important that you tell us if your contact information 

changes. If we cannot reach you, your claim may be closed or you may miss important deadlines set by state law.

The victim is the person who was physically injured because of the crime. Parents and legal guardians of a minor 

child (under 18 years old) and legal guardians or conservators of an incapacitated adult must also fill out Section 3. A 

separate application must be filled out for each victim who was physically injured.

SECTION 2 – CLAIMANT INFORMATION

The claimant is the person who has expenses because of the crime. If the victim and the claimant are the same person, you  

do not have to fill out this section. Parents and legal guardians of a minor child (under 18 years old) and legal guardians 

or conservators of an incapacitated adult must also fill out Section 3.

Name of victim (last, first, middle)	 Birth date		  Age

Address		  City		  State	 Zip	

Home telephone	 Work telephone	 Cell phone	 Email	

Primary language spoken		
Gender:      Female     Male     Other

Relationship to victim:    

 child      spouse      parent      grandchild      grandparent      spouse’s parent      stepparent      brother      

 sister      half-brother      half-sister      stepchild      adopted child      party to a civil union      other

Name of claimant (last, first, middle)	 Birth date		  Age

Address		  City		  State	 Zip	

Home telephone	 Work telephone	 Cell phone	 Email	

Primary language spoken		
Gender:      Female      Male      Other

I certify that the information in this application for victim compensation is true to the best of my knowledge, information, 

and belief, and I give permission to any hospital, physician(s) or other person(s) who attended, examined, or gave services to 

any employer(s) of the victim or claimant, any police or other municipal authority or agency, or public authorities including 

state and federal revenue services, any insurance company or organization having knowledge of the incident to give to the 

Office of Victim Services (OVS) or its representative any and all information regarding the incident leading to the victim’s 

physical injuries and the victim’s or claimant’s application for compensation. A copy of this authorization will be considered 

as effective and valid as the original.

I give permission to OVS to disclose any information in its records, including confidential information, to the offices of the 

Court Support Services Division, the State’s Attorney, the Attorney General, and to private attorneys retained by OVS or 

the victim, and to communicate freely with them when necessary (Sections 54-208(e), 54-212, and 54-215 of the Connecticut 

General Statutes).

I understand that I must notify OVS if I file a lawsuit against whoever is responsible for the injury for which OVS paid 

the award within 30 days of the filing of the action in court. If I recover money from the lawsuit, either by a judgment or 

by settlement, I understand that OVS is entitled by law to 2/3 of the amount OVS paid. (Section 54-212 of the Connecticut 

General Statutes). If I have filed a lawsuit, I agree to provide a copy of the writ, summons, and complaint to OVS immediately.

I understand that OVS will have the right to bring a lawsuit in my name against whoever is responsible for the injury 

for which the money was paid. I also understand that if OVS recovers money from the lawsuit, OVS is entitled by law to 

keep 2/3 of the amount paid, plus costs and interest. OVS will pay me any balance over that amount (Section 54-212 of the 

Connecticut General Statutes).

I understand that if I receive money from any other sources, including payments from state or municipal agencies, insurance 

benefits, or workers’ compensation as a result of the criminal incident, OVS is entitled by law to 2/3 of the amount OVS paid 

(Section 54-212 of the Connecticut General Statutes).

I understand that if the court orders restitution to the victim for expenses paid by OVS, OVS is entitled to receive full 

reimbursement, unless the court orders differently (Section 54-215 of the Connecticut General Statutes).

I also understand that my providers may be reimbursed directly for debts that I owe.

Print your name 	 Signature	 Date 

The adult victim/claimant, the parent/legal guardian/conservator of a minor child (under 18 years old), or the legal guardian of an 
incapacitated adult must sign this application. Applications that are not signed will be returned.

Please mail, fax, or email the completed application to: Office of Victim Services, 225 Spring Street, 4th Floor, Wethersfield, 
CT 06109; Fax: 860-263-2780; Email: OVS@jud.ct.gov

Contact OVS at: 1-888-286-7347 (toll-free), 860-263-2761 (office), www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim (Web site) 

SECTION 11 – STATEMENT OF FACTS & AUTHORIZATION

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY	                   Claim Number		                          Claims Examiner

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a 
reasonable accommodation, in accordance with the ADA, contact a Judicial Branch employee or an ADA contact person 
listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ada/.

SECTION 10 – INSURANCE & OTHER FINANCIAL RESOURCES

This section must be filled out. Answer each numbered question by checking yes or no. If you answer yes, review the financial 
resources listed under that question and answer yes or no. If you answer yes, provide the information requested. You must  
contact us if any of the financial resources checked as no become available in the future. 

1. Do you or will you have Medical, Mental Health, and/or Prescription Expenses?     Yes     No
	 Financial Resources	 Yes	 No	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Member No.        
	 Dental Insurance	 	 	 				                     		
	 Department of Social Services	 	 	 				                     		
	 Health Insurance (Primary)	 	 	 				                     		
	 Health Insurance (Secondary)	 	 	 				                     		
	 Medicare	 	 	 				                     		
	 Veterans Administration	 	 	 				                     	
	 Workers’ Compensation	 	 	 				                     	

2. Do you have Crime Scene Cleanup expenses?	  Yes     No
	 Financial Resources	 Yes	 No	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Policy No.           
	 Homeowners Insurance	 	 	 				                     		
	 Renters Insurance	 	 	 				                     

3. Do you have or will you have Lost Wages?	  Yes     No
	 Financial Resources	 Yes	 No	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Member/Policy No.
	 Department of Social Services	 	 	 				                     
	 Disability Insurance	 	 	 				                     
	 Life Insurance with Disability Rider		 	 				                     
	 Police/Firefighters Insurance	 	 	 				                     
	 Police Association of Connecticut	 	 	 				                     
	 Social Security Disability	 	 	 				                     
	 Workers’ Compensation	 	 	 				                     

	 Unemployment Compensation	 	 	 				                     

	 4. Did the incident involve a Motor Vehicle?	  Yes     No
	 Financial Resources	 Yes	 No	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Policy/Claim No.
	 At the time of the crime, did you	 	 	 				                        
	 have auto insurance?

	 If you did not have auto	 	 	 				                        
	 insurance at the time of the 
	 crime, did you live with a 
	 relative who had auto insurance?

	 Did you file a claim against the 	 	 	 				                        
	 other driver’s auto insurance?

	 Did you receive an auto 	 	 	 				                        
	 insurance settlement?

5. You must check yes or no for each of the sources listed below. 
	 Other Sources of Income	 Yes	 No	 Court Location and Docket Number				                     
	 Did the court order restitution? 	 	 	 				                                                        
	 Did you or will you file a lawsuit?		 	 				                                                        
	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Policy/Claim No.  
	 Did you or will you file a Dram 	 	 	 				                                                        
	 Shop Liability Claim?
	 Other	 	 	 				                       

(Financial)

(Medical)

(Crimes while at work)

(Crimes while at work)



If the crime was a sexual assault, please do not fill out this section but answer the questions in Section 7a. This section 

must be filled out for all other crimes.

SECTION 7 – CRIME INFORMATION

SECTION 7a – SEXUAL ASSAULT CRIMES

Type of crime:     m assault     m robbery with injury     m dui     m hit and run     m other

Briefly describe the crime and physical injuries:

 

 

Date of crime	                             	 Address and city where crime happened

Date crime was reported to police			   Police department crime was reported to

Police department incident number		  Name of police officer investigating the crime

Was the crime reported to the police within 5 days?     m yes     m no  (If no, please explain)

Was someone arrested for the crime?  m yes  m no  m unknown
			            Name of person(s) arrested, if known
Did the person(s) arrested go to court?  m yes  m no  m unknown	
		                                           If yes, court location	   Docket number, if known

Date of crime	 Address and city where crime happened

Did you go to a hospital for a sexual assault medical examination and evidence collection?     m yes     m no

If yes, name of hospital or healthcare facility			  Date of examination

Please check which professional you told about the sexual assault:

m alcohol and drug counselor     	 m marriage and family therapist	 m psychologist
m clinical social worker	 m mental health professional	 m resident physician or intern at a 
m counselor 	 m nurse (advanced practice, practical, or registered)	      Connecticut hospital
m emergency medical services provider	 m physician or physician assistant	 m sexual assault or domestic violence counselor
m employee of Department of Children	 m police officer	 m surgeon
     and Families

Name of the person you told about the assault	 Title		  Date you told that person

Address	 City		  State	 Zip

Telephone number

SECTION 8 – CRIME EXPENSES
Please list all of the hospitals, doctors, dentists, counselors, ambulance services, radiology services, and others who 

provided treatment or services because of the crime and list the prescriptions (drugs and eyeglasses) you were given 

because of it (attach additional pages, if needed) and include copies of any crime related bills.

SECTION 9 – EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION 

Please fill out this section if you were employed or self-employed at the time of the crime and are applying for lost 

wages. If self-employed, attach a copy of your tax return and W2 or 1099 form for the year of the crime. If you have not 

filed your taxes before completing this application, forward the information for the year before the crime happened. 

Please note that we can only consider taxable income. We will contact your employer for dates absent, salary, and benefit 

information. If you have a concern about this, please call us. If you missed more than 1 week of work, please provide a 

doctor’s note.

Name of employer			   Contact name	 Telephone number

Address		  City		  State	      Zip

Hours worked per week		  Wage per hour		  Tips, bonuses per week

Dates absent because of crime related injuries or care to victim

Name of treating doctor or hospital				    Telephone number

Address		  City		  State	      Zip

SECTION 3 – PARENT/LEGAL GUARDIAN/CONSERVATOR INFORMATION 
This section is for parents and legal guardians of children under 18 years old and legal guardians or conservators of 

an incapacitated adult. If you have your own expenses because of the crime, please fill out another application and list 

yourself as the claimant. (A copy of the court order naming you as the legal guardians or conservators must be provided.)

Name of parent/legal guardian/conservator (last, first, middle)	

Address		  City		  State	 Zip	

Home telephone	 Work telephone	 Cell phone	 Email	

Primary language spoken		
Gender:      Female      Male      Other

SECTION 4 – ATTORNEY REPRESENTATION 

Name of attorney (last, first, middle)		  Name of firm			 

Address			   City	 State	 Zip

Work telephone	 Fax number	 Juris number	 Email address

Please check if an attorney is representing you on this application, a civil lawsuit, or both and provide the attorney’s 

contact information.      Representing me on this application      Representing me in a civil lawsuit

Was the victim disabled before the crime?      yes      no 

SECTION 6 – STATISTICAL INFORMATION

How did you find out about the Victim Compensation Program?

 community advocate     	  medical provider    	  poster/brochure
 family member	  mental health provider	  private attorney
 friend/acquaintance	  Office of Adult Probation	  prosecutor/state’s attorney
 hospital 	  OVS victim services advocate	  public service announcement
 Infoline 211	  OVS web page 	  telephone book 
 Internet 	  police 	  other 

Statistics are voluntary but needed for federal reporting requirements.

 american indian/alaskan native	  asian	  black/african american	  hispanic
 native hawaiian/pacific islander	  other	  white	  unknown

	 Provider	 Telephone	 Address	 City	 State	 Zip	

Name of contact person (last, first, middle)	 How do you know the contact person?

Address			   City	 State	 Zip

Home telephone	 Work telephone	 Cell phone	 Email

SECTION 5 – CONTACT PERSON (person to contact in case we can’t reach you) 

 Natural/adoptive parent
 Legal guardian      Conservator

Relationship:



If the crime was a sexual assault, please do not fill out this section but answer the questions in Section 7a. This section 

must be filled out for all other crimes.

SECTION 7 – CRIME INFORMATION

SECTION 7a – SEXUAL ASSAULT CRIMES

Type of crime:     m assault     m robbery with injury     m dui     m hit and run     m other

Briefly describe the crime and physical injuries:

 

 

Date of crime	                             	 Address and city where crime happened

Date crime was reported to police			   Police department crime was reported to

Police department incident number		  Name of police officer investigating the crime

Was the crime reported to the police within 5 days?     m yes     m no  (If no, please explain)

Was someone arrested for the crime?  m yes  m no  m unknown
			            Name of person(s) arrested, if known
Did the person(s) arrested go to court?  m yes  m no  m unknown	
		                                           If yes, court location	   Docket number, if known

Date of crime	 Address and city where crime happened

Did you go to a hospital for a sexual assault medical examination and evidence collection?     m yes     m no

If yes, name of hospital or healthcare facility			  Date of examination

Please check which professional you told about the sexual assault:

m alcohol and drug counselor     	 m marriage and family therapist	 m psychologist
m clinical social worker	 m mental health professional	 m resident physician or intern at a 
m counselor 	 m nurse (advanced practice, practical, or registered)	      Connecticut hospital
m emergency medical services provider	 m physician or physician assistant	 m sexual assault or domestic violence counselor
m employee of Department of Children	 m police officer	 m surgeon
     and Families

Name of the person you told about the assault	 Title		  Date you told that person

Address	 City		  State	 Zip

Telephone number

SECTION 8 – CRIME EXPENSES
Please list all of the hospitals, doctors, dentists, counselors, ambulance services, radiology services, and others who 

provided treatment or services because of the crime and list the prescriptions (drugs and eyeglasses) you were given 

because of it (attach additional pages, if needed) and include copies of any crime related bills.

SECTION 9 – EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION 

Please fill out this section if you were employed or self-employed at the time of the crime and are applying for lost 

wages. If self-employed, attach a copy of your tax return and W2 or 1099 form for the year of the crime. If you have not 

filed your taxes before completing this application, forward the information for the year before the crime happened. 

Please note that we can only consider taxable income. We will contact your employer for dates absent, salary, and benefit 

information. If you have a concern about this, please call us. If you missed more than 1 week of work, please provide a 

doctor’s note.

Name of employer			   Contact name	 Telephone number

Address		  City		  State	      Zip

Hours worked per week		  Wage per hour		  Tips, bonuses per week

Dates absent because of crime related injuries or care to victim

Name of treating doctor or hospital				    Telephone number

Address		  City		  State	      Zip

SECTION 3 – PARENT/LEGAL GUARDIAN/CONSERVATOR INFORMATION 
This section is for parents and legal guardians of children under 18 years old and legal guardians or conservators of 

an incapacitated adult. If you have your own expenses because of the crime, please fill out another application and list 

yourself as the claimant. (A copy of the court order naming you as the legal guardians or conservators must be provided.)

Name of parent/legal guardian/conservator (last, first, middle)	

Address		  City		  State	 Zip	

Home telephone	 Work telephone	 Cell phone	 Email	

Primary language spoken		
Gender:      Female      Male      Other

SECTION 4 – ATTORNEY REPRESENTATION 

Name of attorney (last, first, middle)		  Name of firm			 

Address			   City	 State	 Zip

Work telephone	 Fax number	 Juris number	 Email address

Please check if an attorney is representing you on this application, a civil lawsuit, or both and provide the attorney’s 

contact information.      Representing me on this application      Representing me in a civil lawsuit

Was the victim disabled before the crime?      yes      no 

SECTION 6 – STATISTICAL INFORMATION

How did you find out about the Victim Compensation Program?

 community advocate     	  medical provider    	  poster/brochure
 family member	  mental health provider	  private attorney
 friend/acquaintance	  Office of Adult Probation	  prosecutor/state’s attorney
 hospital 	  OVS victim services advocate	  public service announcement
 Infoline 211	  OVS web page 	  telephone book 
 Internet 	  police 	  other 

Statistics are voluntary but needed for federal reporting requirements.

 american indian/alaskan native	  asian	  black/african american	  hispanic
 native hawaiian/pacific islander	  other	  white	  unknown

	 Provider	 Telephone	 Address	 City	 State	 Zip	

Name of contact person (last, first, middle)	 How do you know the contact person?

Address			   City	 State	 Zip

Home telephone	 Work telephone	 Cell phone	 Email

SECTION 5 – CONTACT PERSON (person to contact in case we can’t reach you) 

 Natural/adoptive parent
 Legal guardian      Conservator

Relationship:



If the crime was a sexual assault, please do not fill out this section but answer the questions in Section 7a. This section 

must be filled out for all other crimes.

SECTION 7 – CRIME INFORMATION

SECTION 7a – SEXUAL ASSAULT CRIMES

Type of crime:     m assault     m robbery with injury     m dui     m hit and run     m other

Briefly describe the crime and physical injuries:

 

 

Date of crime	                             	 Address and city where crime happened

Date crime was reported to police			   Police department crime was reported to

Police department incident number		  Name of police officer investigating the crime

Was the crime reported to the police within 5 days?     m yes     m no  (If no, please explain)

Was someone arrested for the crime?  m yes  m no  m unknown
			            Name of person(s) arrested, if known
Did the person(s) arrested go to court?  m yes  m no  m unknown	
		                                           If yes, court location	   Docket number, if known

Date of crime	 Address and city where crime happened

Did you go to a hospital for a sexual assault medical examination and evidence collection?     m yes     m no

If yes, name of hospital or healthcare facility			  Date of examination

Please check which professional you told about the sexual assault:

m alcohol and drug counselor     	 m marriage and family therapist	 m psychologist
m clinical social worker	 m mental health professional	 m resident physician or intern at a 
m counselor 	 m nurse (advanced practice, practical, or registered)	      Connecticut hospital
m emergency medical services provider	 m physician or physician assistant	 m sexual assault or domestic violence counselor
m employee of Department of Children	 m police officer	 m surgeon
     and Families

Name of the person you told about the assault	 Title		  Date you told that person

Address	 City		  State	 Zip

Telephone number

SECTION 8 – CRIME EXPENSES
Please list all of the hospitals, doctors, dentists, counselors, ambulance services, radiology services, and others who 

provided treatment or services because of the crime and list the prescriptions (drugs and eyeglasses) you were given 

because of it (attach additional pages, if needed) and include copies of any crime related bills.

SECTION 9 – EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION 

Please fill out this section if you were employed or self-employed at the time of the crime and are applying for lost 

wages. If self-employed, attach a copy of your tax return and W2 or 1099 form for the year of the crime. If you have not 

filed your taxes before completing this application, forward the information for the year before the crime happened. 

Please note that we can only consider taxable income. We will contact your employer for dates absent, salary, and benefit 

information. If you have a concern about this, please call us. If you missed more than 1 week of work, please provide a 

doctor’s note.

Name of employer			   Contact name	 Telephone number

Address		  City		  State	      Zip

Hours worked per week		  Wage per hour		  Tips, bonuses per week

Dates absent because of crime related injuries or care to victim

Name of treating doctor or hospital				    Telephone number

Address		  City		  State	      Zip

SECTION 3 – PARENT/LEGAL GUARDIAN/CONSERVATOR INFORMATION 
This section is for parents and legal guardians of children under 18 years old and legal guardians or conservators of 

an incapacitated adult. If you have your own expenses because of the crime, please fill out another application and list 

yourself as the claimant. (A copy of the court order naming you as the legal guardians or conservators must be provided.)

Name of parent/legal guardian/conservator (last, first, middle)	

Address		  City		  State	 Zip	

Home telephone	 Work telephone	 Cell phone	 Email	

Primary language spoken		
Gender:      Female      Male      Other

SECTION 4 – ATTORNEY REPRESENTATION 

Name of attorney (last, first, middle)		  Name of firm			 

Address			   City	 State	 Zip

Work telephone	 Fax number	 Juris number	 Email address

Please check if an attorney is representing you on this application, a civil lawsuit, or both and provide the attorney’s 

contact information.      Representing me on this application      Representing me in a civil lawsuit

Was the victim disabled before the crime?      yes      no 

SECTION 6 – STATISTICAL INFORMATION

How did you find out about the Victim Compensation Program?

 community advocate     	  medical provider    	  poster/brochure
 family member	  mental health provider	  private attorney
 friend/acquaintance	  Office of Adult Probation	  prosecutor/state’s attorney
 hospital 	  OVS victim services advocate	  public service announcement
 Infoline 211	  OVS web page 	  telephone book 
 Internet 	  police 	  other 

Statistics are voluntary but needed for federal reporting requirements.

 american indian/alaskan native	  asian	  black/african american	  hispanic
 native hawaiian/pacific islander	  other	  white	  unknown

	 Provider	 Telephone	 Address	 City	 State	 Zip	

Name of contact person (last, first, middle)	 How do you know the contact person?

Address			   City	 State	 Zip

Home telephone	 Work telephone	 Cell phone	 Email

SECTION 5 – CONTACT PERSON (person to contact in case we can’t reach you) 

 Natural/adoptive parent
 Legal guardian      Conservator

Relationship:



PERSONAL INJURY COMPENSATION
APPLICATION 

JD-VS-8PI 10/16

SECTION 1 – VICTIM INFORMATION 

We are here to help. If you have any questions about filling out this application or the Victim Compensation Program, 

please call us toll-free at 1-888-286-7347. Please know that it is important that you tell us if your contact information 

changes. If we cannot reach you, your claim may be closed or you may miss important deadlines set by state law.

The victim is the person who was physically injured because of the crime. Parents and legal guardians of a minor 

child (under 18 years old) and legal guardians or conservators of an incapacitated adult must also fill out Section 3. A 

separate application must be filled out for each victim who was physically injured.

SECTION 2 – CLAIMANT INFORMATION

The claimant is the person who has expenses because of the crime. If the victim and the claimant are the same person, you  

do not have to fill out this section. Parents and legal guardians of a minor child (under 18 years old) and legal guardians 

or conservators of an incapacitated adult must also fill out Section 3.

Name of victim (last, first, middle)	 Birth date		  Age

Address		  City		  State	 Zip	

Home telephone	 Work telephone	 Cell phone	 Email	

Primary language spoken		
Gender:      Female     Male     Other

Relationship to victim:    

 child      spouse      parent      grandchild      grandparent      spouse’s parent      stepparent      brother      

 sister      half-brother      half-sister      stepchild      adopted child      party to a civil union      other

Name of claimant (last, first, middle)	 Birth date		  Age

Address		  City		  State	 Zip	

Home telephone	 Work telephone	 Cell phone	 Email	

Primary language spoken		
Gender:      Female      Male      Other

I certify that the information in this application for victim compensation is true to the best of my knowledge, information, 

and belief, and I give permission to any hospital, physician(s) or other person(s) who attended, examined, or gave services to 

any employer(s) of the victim or claimant, any police or other municipal authority or agency, or public authorities including 

state and federal revenue services, any insurance company or organization having knowledge of the incident to give to the 

Office of Victim Services (OVS) or its representative any and all information regarding the incident leading to the victim’s 

physical injuries and the victim’s or claimant’s application for compensation. A copy of this authorization will be considered 

as effective and valid as the original.

I give permission to OVS to disclose any information in its records, including confidential information, to the offices of the 

Court Support Services Division, the State’s Attorney, the Attorney General, and to private attorneys retained by OVS or 

the victim, and to communicate freely with them when necessary (Sections 54-208(e), 54-212, and 54-215 of the Connecticut 

General Statutes).

I understand that I must notify OVS if I file a lawsuit against whoever is responsible for the injury for which OVS paid 

the award within 30 days of the filing of the action in court. If I recover money from the lawsuit, either by a judgment or 

by settlement, I understand that OVS is entitled by law to 2/3 of the amount OVS paid. (Section 54-212 of the Connecticut 

General Statutes). If I have filed a lawsuit, I agree to provide a copy of the writ, summons, and complaint to OVS immediately.

I understand that OVS will have the right to bring a lawsuit in my name against whoever is responsible for the injury 

for which the money was paid. I also understand that if OVS recovers money from the lawsuit, OVS is entitled by law to 

keep 2/3 of the amount paid, plus costs and interest. OVS will pay me any balance over that amount (Section 54-212 of the 

Connecticut General Statutes).

I understand that if I receive money from any other sources, including payments from state or municipal agencies, insurance 

benefits, or workers’ compensation as a result of the criminal incident, OVS is entitled by law to 2/3 of the amount OVS paid 

(Section 54-212 of the Connecticut General Statutes).

I understand that if the court orders restitution to the victim for expenses paid by OVS, OVS is entitled to receive full 

reimbursement, unless the court orders differently (Section 54-215 of the Connecticut General Statutes).

I also understand that my providers may be reimbursed directly for debts that I owe.

Print your name 	 Signature	 Date 

The adult victim/claimant, the parent/legal guardian/conservator of a minor child (under 18 years old), or the legal guardian of an 
incapacitated adult must sign this application. Applications that are not signed will be returned.

Please mail, fax, or email the completed application to: Office of Victim Services, 225 Spring Street, 4th Floor, Wethersfield, 
CT 06109; Fax: 860-263-2780; Email: OVS@jud.ct.gov

Contact OVS at: 1-888-286-7347 (toll-free), 860-263-2761 (office), www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim (Web site) 

SECTION 11 – STATEMENT OF FACTS & AUTHORIZATION

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY	                   Claim Number		                          Claims Examiner

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a 
reasonable accommodation, in accordance with the ADA, contact a Judicial Branch employee or an ADA contact person 
listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ada/.

SECTION 10 – INSURANCE & OTHER FINANCIAL RESOURCES

This section must be filled out. Answer each numbered question by checking yes or no. If you answer yes, review the financial 
resources listed under that question and answer yes or no. If you answer yes, provide the information requested. You must  
contact us if any of the financial resources checked as no become available in the future. 

1. Do you or will you have Medical, Mental Health, and/or Prescription Expenses?     Yes     No
	 Financial Resources	 Yes	 No	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Member No.        
	 Dental Insurance	 	 	 				                     		
	 Department of Social Services	 	 	 				                     		
	 Health Insurance (Primary)	 	 	 				                     		
	 Health Insurance (Secondary)	 	 	 				                     		
	 Medicare	 	 	 				                     		
	 Veterans Administration	 	 	 				                     	
	 Workers’ Compensation	 	 	 				                     	

2. Do you have Crime Scene Cleanup expenses?	  Yes     No
	 Financial Resources	 Yes	 No	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Policy No.           
	 Homeowners Insurance	 	 	 				                     		
	 Renters Insurance	 	 	 				                     

3. Do you have or will you have Lost Wages?	  Yes     No
	 Financial Resources	 Yes	 No	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Member/Policy No.
	 Department of Social Services	 	 	 				                     
	 Disability Insurance	 	 	 				                     
	 Life Insurance with Disability Rider		 	 				                     
	 Police/Firefighters Insurance	 	 	 				                     
	 Police Association of Connecticut	 	 	 				                     
	 Social Security Disability	 	 	 				                     
	 Workers’ Compensation	 	 	 				                     

	 Unemployment Compensation	 	 	 				                     

	 4. Did the incident involve a Motor Vehicle?	  Yes     No
	 Financial Resources	 Yes	 No	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Policy/Claim No.
	 At the time of the crime, did you	 	 	 				                        
	 have auto insurance?

	 If you did not have auto	 	 	 				                        
	 insurance at the time of the 
	 crime, did you live with a 
	 relative who had auto insurance?

	 Did you file a claim against the 	 	 	 				                        
	 other driver’s auto insurance?

	 Did you receive an auto 	 	 	 				                        
	 insurance settlement?

5. You must check yes or no for each of the sources listed below. 
	 Other Sources of Income	 Yes	 No	 Court Location and Docket Number				                     
	 Did the court order restitution? 	 	 	 				                                                        
	 Did you or will you file a lawsuit?		 	 				                                                        
	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Policy/Claim No.  
	 Did you or will you file a Dram 	 	 	 				                                                        
	 Shop Liability Claim?
	 Other	 	 	 				                       

(Financial)

(Medical)

(Crimes while at work)

(Crimes while at work)



PERSONAL INJURY COMPENSATION
APPLICATION 

JD-VS-8PI 10/16

SECTION 1 – VICTIM INFORMATION 

We are here to help. If you have any questions about filling out this application or the Victim Compensation Program, 

please call us toll-free at 1-888-286-7347. Please know that it is important that you tell us if your contact information 

changes. If we cannot reach you, your claim may be closed or you may miss important deadlines set by state law.

The victim is the person who was physically injured because of the crime. Parents and legal guardians of a minor 

child (under 18 years old) and legal guardians or conservators of an incapacitated adult must also fill out Section 3. A 

separate application must be filled out for each victim who was physically injured.

SECTION 2 – CLAIMANT INFORMATION

The claimant is the person who has expenses because of the crime. If the victim and the claimant are the same person, you  

do not have to fill out this section. Parents and legal guardians of a minor child (under 18 years old) and legal guardians 

or conservators of an incapacitated adult must also fill out Section 3.

Name of victim (last, first, middle)	 Birth date		  Age

Address		  City		  State	 Zip	

Home telephone	 Work telephone	 Cell phone	 Email	

Primary language spoken		
Gender:      Female     Male     Other

Relationship to victim:    

 child      spouse      parent      grandchild      grandparent      spouse’s parent      stepparent      brother      

 sister      half-brother      half-sister      stepchild      adopted child      party to a civil union      other

Name of claimant (last, first, middle)	 Birth date		  Age

Address		  City		  State	 Zip	

Home telephone	 Work telephone	 Cell phone	 Email	

Primary language spoken		
Gender:      Female      Male      Other

I certify that the information in this application for victim compensation is true to the best of my knowledge, information, 

and belief, and I give permission to any hospital, physician(s) or other person(s) who attended, examined, or gave services to 

any employer(s) of the victim or claimant, any police or other municipal authority or agency, or public authorities including 

state and federal revenue services, any insurance company or organization having knowledge of the incident to give to the 

Office of Victim Services (OVS) or its representative any and all information regarding the incident leading to the victim’s 

physical injuries and the victim’s or claimant’s application for compensation. A copy of this authorization will be considered 

as effective and valid as the original.

I give permission to OVS to disclose any information in its records, including confidential information, to the offices of the 

Court Support Services Division, the State’s Attorney, the Attorney General, and to private attorneys retained by OVS or 

the victim, and to communicate freely with them when necessary (Sections 54-208(e), 54-212, and 54-215 of the Connecticut 

General Statutes).

I understand that I must notify OVS if I file a lawsuit against whoever is responsible for the injury for which OVS paid 

the award within 30 days of the filing of the action in court. If I recover money from the lawsuit, either by a judgment or 

by settlement, I understand that OVS is entitled by law to 2/3 of the amount OVS paid. (Section 54-212 of the Connecticut 

General Statutes). If I have filed a lawsuit, I agree to provide a copy of the writ, summons, and complaint to OVS immediately.

I understand that OVS will have the right to bring a lawsuit in my name against whoever is responsible for the injury 

for which the money was paid. I also understand that if OVS recovers money from the lawsuit, OVS is entitled by law to 

keep 2/3 of the amount paid, plus costs and interest. OVS will pay me any balance over that amount (Section 54-212 of the 

Connecticut General Statutes).

I understand that if I receive money from any other sources, including payments from state or municipal agencies, insurance 

benefits, or workers’ compensation as a result of the criminal incident, OVS is entitled by law to 2/3 of the amount OVS paid 

(Section 54-212 of the Connecticut General Statutes).

I understand that if the court orders restitution to the victim for expenses paid by OVS, OVS is entitled to receive full 

reimbursement, unless the court orders differently (Section 54-215 of the Connecticut General Statutes).

I also understand that my providers may be reimbursed directly for debts that I owe.

Print your name 	 Signature	 Date 

The adult victim/claimant, the parent/legal guardian/conservator of a minor child (under 18 years old), or the legal guardian of an 
incapacitated adult must sign this application. Applications that are not signed will be returned.

Please mail, fax, or email the completed application to: Office of Victim Services, 225 Spring Street, 4th Floor, Wethersfield, 
CT 06109; Fax: 860-263-2780; Email: OVS@jud.ct.gov

Contact OVS at: 1-888-286-7347 (toll-free), 860-263-2761 (office), www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim (Web site) 

SECTION 11 – STATEMENT OF FACTS & AUTHORIZATION

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY	                   Claim Number		                          Claims Examiner

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a 
reasonable accommodation, in accordance with the ADA, contact a Judicial Branch employee or an ADA contact person 
listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ada/.

SECTION 10 – INSURANCE & OTHER FINANCIAL RESOURCES

This section must be filled out. Answer each numbered question by checking yes or no. If you answer yes, review the financial 
resources listed under that question and answer yes or no. If you answer yes, provide the information requested. You must  
contact us if any of the financial resources checked as no become available in the future. 

1. Do you or will you have Medical, Mental Health, and/or Prescription Expenses?     Yes     No
	 Financial Resources	 Yes	 No	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Member No.        
	 Dental Insurance	 	 	 				                     		
	 Department of Social Services	 	 	 				                     		
	 Health Insurance (Primary)	 	 	 				                     		
	 Health Insurance (Secondary)	 	 	 				                     		
	 Medicare	 	 	 				                     		
	 Veterans Administration	 	 	 				                     	
	 Workers’ Compensation	 	 	 				                     	

2. Do you have Crime Scene Cleanup expenses?	  Yes     No
	 Financial Resources	 Yes	 No	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Policy No.           
	 Homeowners Insurance	 	 	 				                     		
	 Renters Insurance	 	 	 				                     

3. Do you have or will you have Lost Wages?	  Yes     No
	 Financial Resources	 Yes	 No	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Member/Policy No.
	 Department of Social Services	 	 	 				                     
	 Disability Insurance	 	 	 				                     
	 Life Insurance with Disability Rider		 	 				                     
	 Police/Firefighters Insurance	 	 	 				                     
	 Police Association of Connecticut	 	 	 				                     
	 Social Security Disability	 	 	 				                     
	 Workers’ Compensation	 	 	 				                     

	 Unemployment Compensation	 	 	 				                     

	 4. Did the incident involve a Motor Vehicle?	  Yes     No
	 Financial Resources	 Yes	 No	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Policy/Claim No.
	 At the time of the crime, did you	 	 	 				                        
	 have auto insurance?

	 If you did not have auto	 	 	 				                        
	 insurance at the time of the 
	 crime, did you live with a 
	 relative who had auto insurance?

	 Did you file a claim against the 	 	 	 				                        
	 other driver’s auto insurance?

	 Did you receive an auto 	 	 	 				                        
	 insurance settlement?

5. You must check yes or no for each of the sources listed below. 
	 Other Sources of Income	 Yes	 No	 Court Location and Docket Number				                     
	 Did the court order restitution? 	 	 	 				                                                        
	 Did you or will you file a lawsuit?		 	 				                                                        
	 Insurance Name	 Address	 Telephone	 Policy/Claim No.  
	 Did you or will you file a Dram 	 	 	 				                                                        
	 Shop Liability Claim?
	 Other	 	 	 				                       

(Financial)

(Medical)

(Crimes while at work)

(Crimes while at work)
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