History of the Connecticut Judicial Seal Home Home BannerBanner

Case Look-up Courts Directories Educational Resources E-Services Juror Information Online Media Resource Center Opinions Opportunities Self-Help Frequently Asked Questions Home Attorneys espanol home navigation




231 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, Connecticut 06106
(860) 757-2270, Fax (860) 757-2215


Quick Links

Judicial Committees, Commissions and Boards
Latest News and Updates
Chief Justice Rogers Appoints Bench-Bar Foreclosure Committee

Chief Justice Chase T. Rogers announced today that she has appointed a Bench-Bar Foreclosure Committee that will review current practices and practices in the courts regarding foreclosure cases, and make recommendations on ways to improve those procedures and practices.

The Honorable Douglas C. Mintz, Administrative Judge for the Danbury Judicial District, will chair the committee. “The purpose of the committee is to promote cooperation between the bench and the bar in this sensitive area,” Judge Mintz said.

“The number of foreclosure cases added in court during the 2005-06 fiscal year totaled 11,764. That number increased to 15,773 for the 2006-07 fiscal year,” Chief Justice Rogers said. “Whether this is a trend that will continue remains to be seen, but I believe that our state courts must be as well prepared as possible to process these cases.”

The first meeting of the committee will be Thursday, Oct. 25, 2007, at 2 p.m. in the Attorney Conference Room, located in the Supreme Court Building, 231 Capitol Ave., Hartford. The meeting is open to the public.

Committee members include judges, attorneys and Judicial Branch employees. Other members include: Judge Salvatore C. Agati; Attorney Ronald M. Bender; Attorney Adam L. Bendett; Attorney Jessica L. Braus; Attorney Denis R. Caron; Attorney Robert F. Frankel; Judge Samuel Freed; Attorney Peggy George; Judge Robert G. Gilligan; Judge Arthur A. Hiller, who is chief administrative judge of civil matters; Ms. Catherine Lapollo; Attorney Leanne M. Larson; Attorney Richard M. Leibert; Attorney Geoffrey Kent Milne; Judge Patty Jenkins Pittman; Judge Richard A. Robinson; Danbury Chief Clerk Therese Servas; Judge Theodore R. Tyma; Attorney Thomas W. Witherspoon; and Attorney Louis C. Zowine.

For further information, please contact Rhonda Stearley-Hebert, manager of communications, at 860-757-2270.


Attorneys | Case Look-up | Courts | Directories | Educational Resources | E-Services | Español | FAQ's | Juror Information | Media | Opinions | Opportunities | Self-Help | Home

Common Legal Words | Contact Us | Site Map | Website Polices and Disclaimers

Copyright © 2016, State of Connecticut Judicial Branch