History of the Connecticut Judicial Seal Home Home BannerBanner

Case Look-up Courts Directories Educational Resources E-Services Juror Information Online Media Resource Center Opinions Opportunities Self-Help Frequently Asked Questions Home Attorneys espanol home navigation







231 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, Connecticut 06106
(860) 757-2270, Fax (860) 757-2215
For More Information, Contact:
Melissa A. Farley



Quick Links

Latest Press Releases
Judicial News Archives
Judges' Corner

New Haven Courthouse
Restoration Task Force

HARTFORD – The Connecticut Judicial Branch announced today the establishment of a task force to formulate and monitor the implementation of a plan to restore Geographical Area Courthouse 6 and 8 which is located at 121 Elm Street in New Haven. Former Connecticut Supreme Court Justice Robert I. Berdon will be chairing the New Haven Courthouse Restoration Task Force.

Known for its Greek pillars and marble walls, this 110,000 square foot facility opened in 1913 on the northeast corner of New Haven’s famed Green. The seven courtrooms within the courthouse are currently utilized to hear criminal, family, small claims, and motor vehicle matters.

"Many of us can remember the days when this courthouse was an asset to the New Haven green," Chief Justice Francis M. McDonald, Jr., said. "The years have taken their toll. As the Legislative and Executive Branches of government assist us in providing additional facilities in New Haven, the time has come to develop a plan to restore this historic structure to its original beauty and function. I am pleased that Justice Berdon has agreed to take on this very important endeavor."

"The New Haven Courthouse has a special significance to me," said Justice Robert I. Berdon. "I was sworn in to the Connecticut bar and as a superior court justice in this magnificent and historic courthouse. Over the many years of its existence, judges assigned to this courthouse have decided complex and troubling controversies that reflected the societal influences of the day. Due to its historical significance and the fact that it is interwoven into the social fabric of New Haven, it is essential that this courthouse receive the attention and resources that is needed."

"I look forward to working with the members of the task force to ensure that this landmark building is brought back to its original grandeur," Berdon continued.

Joining Justice Berdon on the task force will be judges, attorneys, and members of the public, including: Judges Donald W. Celotto, Barbara A. Coppeto, Elizabeth A. Gallagher, William L. Hadden, Jr., Lubbie Harper, Jr., Beverly Hodgson, Frank S. Meadow, Socrates H. Mihalakos and Jonathan E. Silbert. Also serving on the task force are: Attorney Peter A. Berdon; Attorney Jonathan J. Einhorn; Ms. Karyn Gilvarg, Executive Director of City Plan Department; Mr. Frank Grasso, Building Maintenance Supervisor of the New Haven Courthouse; Mr. Fred S. Meadow; Julia McNamara, President of Albert Magnus College and Attorney Michael Sulzbach and Robert A. M. Stern, Dean, Yale University School of Architecture.

G.A. 6 and 8 currently serve the citizens of Bethany, Branford, East Haven, Guilford, Madison, New Haven, North Branford, and Woodbridge.

Editors’ Note: A 1915 photograph of G.A. 6 and 8, courtesy of the New Haven Colony Historical Society, is available by contacting the External Affairs Division. 


arrownews archives...


Attorneys | Case Look-up | Courts | Directories | Educational Resources | E-Services | Español | FAQ's | Juror Information | Media | Opinions | Opportunities | Self-Help | Home

Common Legal Words | Contact Us | Site Map | Website Polices and Disclaimers

Copyright © 2016, State of Connecticut Judicial Branch