History of the Connecticut Judicial Seal Home Home BannerBanner

Case Look-up Courts Directories Educational Resources E-Services Juror Information Online Media Resource Center Opinions Opportunities Self-Help Frequently Asked Questions Home Attorneys espanol home navigation







231 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, Connecticut 06106
(860) 757-2270, Fax (860) 757-2215



Quick Links

Latest Press Releases
Judicial News Archives
Judges' Corner

Small Claims Press Release

Effective April 1, 2003, the Connecticut Judicial Branch will consolidate the small claims areas of Tolland and Manchester into the Small Claims Area of Manchester, at 410 Center Street, Manchester (the Geographical Area 12 Courthouse).

Also effective that day, new small claims writs no longer will be accepted by the Tolland Small Claims Area, now located in the Tolland Judicial District Courthouse at 69 Brooklyn Street, in the Rockville section of Vernon. That location currently serves the towns of Andover, Bolton, Columbia, Coventry, Ellington, Hebron, Mansfield, Somers, Stafford, Tolland, Union, Vernon and Willington, As of April 1, all of those towns will be served at the Manchester location.

The Judicial Branch is consolidating the Manchester and Tolland small claims areas because of budgetary constraints and a lack of space at the Tolland Small Claims Area. But the consolidation also is consistent with the Branch's efforts over the past several years to regionalize small claims matters.

"Consolidation allows the Judicial Branch to handle small claims matters more efficiently," Chief Court Administrator Joseph H. Pellegrino said. "Regionalization also provides more consistent services to the public. So between the current budgetary situation, the lack of space in Rockville, and our overall goal, this move makes perfect sense."

The telephone number for the Small Claims Area at Manchester is 860-647-9789, and the information line (recording) is 860-643-6517. The fax number is 860-649-7219. The Manchester location currently processes claims from Avon, Bloomfield, Canton, East Granby, East Hartford, East Windsor, Enfield, Farmington, Glastonbury, Granby, Hartford, Manchester, Marlborough, Simsbury, South Windsor, Suffield, West Hartford, Windsor, and Windsor Locks.

For further information, contact the External Affairs Division at (860) 757-2270.


arrownews archives...


Attorneys | Case Look-up | Courts | Directories | Educational Resources | E-Services | Español | FAQ's | Juror Information | Media | Opinions | Opportunities | Self-Help | Home

Common Legal Words | Contact Us | Site Map | Website Polices and Disclaimers

Copyright © 2016, State of Connecticut Judicial Branch