
Procedures for  
Ordering a  
Court Transcript



Introduction

A transcript is a written document that reflects what was 
spoken on the record during a court proceeding.

The following provides a quick reference to current laws, 
rules, regulations, policies, and procedures for ordering  
a transcript. 

If you have any questions, please contact the official 
court reporter in the appropriate judicial district (see page 
6) or you may write to:

Court Transcript Services Unit 
Superior Court Operations Division 
Connecticut Judicial Branch 
90 Washington Street 
Hartford, CT 06106
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Important Information before 
Requesting A Transcript
In the following situations, disclosure of a transcript may be prohibited 
by statute or court order:

•   Juvenile court proceedings

•   Transcripts of any matter involving a youth or a youth adjudged a 
youthful offender

•   Closed hearing or records sealed in family relations matters

•   Closed hearing or records sealed by court order in civil or  
criminal matters

Erasure of Records
By statute, clerks of court cannot disclose the existence of certain cases 
and may not give out any information or records about these cases. 
These records are considered “erased” or are referred to in the statutes as 
being “erased.” Being “erased” does not necessarily mean that the file is 
destroyed, but that court staff must treat the matter as if it never occurred.

On and after October 1, 1996, “court records” was defined as not 
including a record or transcript of the proceedings made or prepared by 
an official court reporter, assistant court reporter or monitor. Therefore, 
transcripts created on or after October 1, 1996 are not erased. (Section 
54-142a (h) of the Connecticut General Statutes). However, if a criminal 
defendant satisfied all the conditions for the record to be erased before 
October 1, 1996, a transcript cannot be provided. Different statutes apply 
to erased youthful offender records and certain erased juvenile matters 
records. Under those statutes, the transcript is erased along with all other 
court records and information.
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Generally, police, court and prosecutorial records 
must be erased when:
1.   (a)  More than 20 days have passed after a defendant is acquitted or 

from the dismissal of a criminal case, unless an appeal is taken, or

 (b)  13 months have passed after a nolle (including a nolle of a 
juvenile delinquency matter) is entered;

2.   A defendant is granted an absolute pardon;

3.   The offense for which the defendant was convicted is 
no longer a crime;

4.   The matter is about a person who has been adjudged a youthful 
offender and has been discharged from the supervision of the court or 
from the care of any institution or agency to which he or she has been 
committed by the court; or

5.   A court in a juvenile matter has entered an order erasing the records of 
a child under section 46b-146 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

A youthful offender whose record has been erased, or the subject of 
an erased record may get information about their record, including a 
transcript, if it has not been destroyed, when they give to the Clerk of  
the Court or the person who is in charge of the requested records one of 
the following:

•   The subject’s current Connecticut driver’s license;

•   The subject’s current driver’s license from another state (if the license 
contains a photograph of the subject);

•   Any official, current valid photo I.D. issued by a municipality, 
employer, college or university;

•   The subject’s current passport;

•   The subject’s current identity card issued by the Department of Motor 
Vehicles (section 1-1h of the Connecticut General Statutes);

•   The subject’s submission of a request, in writing, which contains 
an acknowledgement authorized by section 1-34 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.
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Sealed Records
The portions of the record that the judge has ordered sealed are not 
available to the public. If the judge has ordered only part of the record 
sealed, the remaining information in the court file is available for 
transcript requests.

Materials ordered sealed by the court can be disclosed if the sealing order 
expires. News professionals or members of the public should make a note 
of the date when the sealing order will expire. Please be aware that in 
many cases the sealing order does not expire. In those cases, information 
will not be disclosable at any point in the future. In any case involving a 
sealing order, the order itself should be reviewed to determine whether a 
transcript can be provided.

Anyone affected by court orders to seal or limit disclosure of materials 
on file in connection with a court proceeding may petition the Appellate 
Court for review of that order within 72 hours of its issuance, except that 
the following types of matters will not be reviewed:

•   Orders under the family matters or search warrant statutes;

•   Any statutory provision authorizing the court to seal or limit disclosure 
of materials at a pretrial or trial stage; or

•   A court rule that seals or limits disclosure of affidavits in support of 
arrest warrants.
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Procedures for Ordering a Transcript
Ordering a Non-Appeal Transcript
All non-appeal transcript requests must be submitted in writing, using the 
Transcript Order – Non-Appeal form (JD-ES-262), and submitted to the 
official court reporter’s office in the judicial district where the case was 
heard. You will need to give the following information:

•   The date of your request

•   The name of the case

•   The docket number (if known)

•   The name of the Judge, Magistrate, or Arbitrator

•   The name of the court reporter or monitor (if known)

•   The specific date(s) the matter was heard in court (month/day/year)

•   The specific portion(s) of proceedings requested (for example, a 
witness, the entire day, orders only, etc.)

•   The name, address, telephone number, and e-mail address of the person 
ordering the transcript

The Transcript Order – Non- Appeal form (JD-ES-262) is available 
at: https://jud.ct.gov/webforms/forms/es262.pdf. The JD-ES-262 form 
is also available in the clerks’ offices, court service centers, and court 
reporters’ offices.

A person who is requesting a transcript may ask for an estimate of how 
much the transcript will cost before ordering the transcript.

By signing the JD-ES-262 form, the person who is requesting the 
transcript agrees to pay for the transcript that is ordered. 

https://jud.ct.gov/webforms/forms/es262.pdf
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Ordering and Filing an Appeal Transcript
On or before the date of filing an appeal to the Appellate Court or 
Supreme Court, order a transcript and an electronic version of a transcript 
from the official court reporter. The person ordering the transcript must 
use the Notice of Appeal Transcript Order form (JD-ES-38) and will need 
to provide the following information:

•   The name of the case

•   The docket number (if known)

•   The name of the Judge/Magistrate/Arbitrator

•   The name of the court reporter/monitor (if known)

•   The specific date(s) matter was heard in court (month/day/year)

•   The specific portion(s) of proceedings requested (for example, a 
witness, the entire day, orders only, etc.)

•   The name, address, telephone number, and e-mail address of the person 
ordering the transcript

The Notice of Appeal Transcript Order form (JD-ES-38) is available  
at: https://jud.ct.gov/webforms/forms/es038.pdf. The JD-ES-38 form 
is also available in the clerks’ offices, court service centers, and court 
reporters’ offices. 

A party must make satisfactory arrangements to pay for the transcript 
according to guidelines established by the Chief Court Administrator, 
which may require advance payment or a deposit or both.

Supreme Court Transcripts and Appellate 
Court Transcripts
Transcripts of Supreme Court and Appellate Court proceedings are 
available by contacting the Official Court Reporter at 101 Lafayette 
Street, Hartford, CT 06106; Phone: 860-566-3400.

https://jud.ct.gov/webforms/forms/es038.pdf
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Connecticut Judicial Districts
Submit transcript requests to the attention of the Official Court Reporter 
in the judicial district where the case was heard.

Ansonia-Milford J.D. 
14 West River Street 
Milford, CT 06460 
Phone:  203-874-8523 
Fax:  203-283-8272

Danbury J.D. 
146 White Street 
Danbury, CT 06810 
Phone:  203-207-8730 
Fax:  203-207-8689

Fair�eld J.D. 
1061 Main Street 
Bridgeport, CT 06604 
Phone:  203-579-7230 
Fax:  203-579-7295

Hartford J.D. 
101 Lafayette Street 
Hartford, CT 06106 
Phone:  860-566-3400 
Fax:  860-566-1638

Litch�eld J.D. 
50 Field Street 
Torrington, CT 06790 
Phone:  860-626-2192 
Fax:  860-626-2193

Middlesex J.D. 
1 Court Street 
Middletown, CT 06457 
Phone:  860-343-6515 
Fax:  860-343-6355

New Britain J.D. 
20 Franklin Square 
New Britain, CT 06051 
Phone:  860-515-5380 
Fax: 860-515-5382

New Haven J.D. 
235 Church Street 
New Haven, CT 06510 
Phone:  203-503-6822 
Fax:  203-503-6886

New London J.D. 
70 Huntington Street 
New London, CT 06320 
Phone:  860-442-2655 
Fax:  860-444-4827

Stamford J.D. 
123 Hoyt Street 
Stamford, CT 06905 
Phone:  203-965-5278 
Fax:  203-965-5794

Tolland J.D. 
20 Park Street 
Rockville, CT 06066 
Phone:  860-870-3215 
Fax:  860-870-3294

Waterbury J.D. 
300 Grand Street 
Waterbury, CT 06702 
Phone:  203-591-3336 
Fax:  203-591-3343

Windham J.D. 
120 School Street 
Danielson 06239 
Phone:  860-779-8537 
Fax:  860-779-8533
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Transcript Fees
Connecticut General Statutes and Judicial Branch policies establish the 
fees that court reporters and monitors charge for transcripts. Transcript 
rates as of the date of the publication of this brochure are as follows: 

Rate for Private Parties
• Next Morning Expedited – available by 9 a.m. on the next business 

day, provided that request is made to the court reporter’s office by 
3 p.m. on the prior business day at $10 per page (except for transcript 
pages previously produced, for which the rate is $5.75 per page)

• Next Day Expedited – available by 5 p.m. on the next business day 
at $6.35 per page (except for transcript pages previously produced, for 
which the rate is $4.60 per page)

• Standard Expedited – available by 5 p.m. on the 5th business day at 
$4.75 per page (except for transcript pages previously produced, for 
which the rate is $3.50 per page)

• Regular – processed in order of receipt at $3.00 per page (except for 
transcript pages previously produced at the $3.00 per page rate, for 
which the rate is $1.75 per page)

A State sales tax will be collected by the court reporter and monitor on 
the total cost of all transcripts. State agencies and municipalities are 
exempt from this sales tax.

For State and Municipal Officials
The rate for State and Municipal Officials applies to any official of 
the state, or any of its agencies, boards or commissions or of any 
municipality of the state, acting in his or her official capacity.

• Next Morning Expedited – available by 9 a.m. on the next business 
day, provided that request is made to the court reporter’s office by 
3 p.m. on the prior business day at $6.75 per page (except for transcript 
pages previously produced, for which the rate is $2.00 per page)

continued
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• Next Day Expedited – available by 5 p.m. on the next business day 
at $4.45 per page (except for transcript pages previously produced, for 
which the rate is $1.55 per page)

• Standard Expedited – available by 5 p.m. on the 5th business day at 
$3.50 per page (except for transcript pages previously produced, for 
which the rate is $1.25 per page)

• Regular – processed in order of receipt at $2.00 per page (except for 
transcript pages previously produced at the $2.00 per page rate, for 
which the rate is $0.75 per page)

General Information

A standard transcript format has been developed to ensure equal 
treatment of all parties requesting court transcripts in Connecticut. The 
format must be followed by all court reporters and court recording 
monitors who prepare transcripts of judicial proceedings. 

A transcript page is 27 double-spaced lines with 60 spaces available 
on each line on 8 ½ inch by 11 inch paper (section 51-63(c) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes).
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TRANSCRIPT ORDER — NON-APPEAL 
JD-ES-262   Rev. 12-18 
C.G.S. §§ 51-63, 52-259b

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

COURT REPORTER'S OFFICE 
www.jud.ct.gov

Instructions to person ordering a transcript 
1. Fill out this entire form except for the “For Office Use Only” section. If the form is not filled out completely, it will be returned to you. 
2. Mail, fax, or hand-deliver it to the Court Reporter's Office in the Judicial District where the hearing was held.

Note:  If you need a transcript for an appeal, you must use form JD-ES-38, available from the Clerk's Office, Court Service Center, or www.jud.ct.gov.
Today's date Name of case Docket number (If known)

Name of Judge/Magistrate/Arbitrator Name of court reporter/monitor (If known)

Specific date(s) being ordered (Month/day/year)

Specific portion(s) of proceedings requested (For example, a witness, the entire day, orders only, etc.)

Name of ordering party Telephone number

Address of ordering party E-mail address

Please indicate your preference below.
Please note that these rates are set under section 51-63(c) of the Connecticut General Statutes. 

Regular - Processed in the order of receipt.
Standard Expedited - Delivered by the end of business
(by 5 p.m.) on the 5th business day after the order was placed.
Next Day Expedited - Delivered by the end of the next business day 
(by 5 p.m.) after the order was placed.

No fee -  Check this box only if the court has granted your Application for Waiver of Fees and attach a copy of the 
court's order to this form.  See JD-CV-120 (civil, housing, small claims fee waiver), JD-AP-48 (criminal fee waiver), or 
JD-FM-75 (family fee waiver).  An expedited transcript will not be produced unless you specifically asked for it on the 
Application for Waiver of Fees and the court granted it.

State or municipal official

    Expedited*
Regular Standard Next Day Next Morning

Private Party 
(must also pay

applicable sales tax)

$3.00 per page 
(Except for transcript pages 
already produced at the $3 
per page rate, in which case 
the rate is $1.75 per page)

$4.75 per page 
(Except for transcript pages 
already produced, in which 
case the rate is $3.50 per 
page)

$6.35 per page
(Except for transcript pages 
already produced, in which 
case the rate is $4.60 per 
page)

$10.00 per page
(Except for transcript pages 
already produced, in which 
case the rate is $5.75 per 
page)

State or 
Municipal Official

$2.00 per page
(Except for transcript pages 
already produced at the $2 
per page rate, in which case 
the rate is $0.75 per page)

$3.50 per page
(Except for transcript pages 
already produced, in which 
case the rate is $1.25 per 
page)

$4.45 per page
(Except for transcript pages 
already produced, in which 
case the rate is $1.55 per 
page)

$6.75 per page
(Except for transcript pages 
already produced, in which 
case the rate is $2.00 per 
page)

*Because of other responsibilities expedited delivery may not be possible in some cases.

If you would like us to contact you with an estimate of the cost or an estimated delivery date, or both, please check here.

By signing this form, I accept financial responsibility for the transcript I am ordering.
Signature of ordering party:

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in 
accordance with the ADA, contact a court clerk or an 
ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

For Office Use Only
To:

Initials: Date:

Next Morning Expedited - Delivered by 9:00 a.m. the next business 
day after the order was placed, provided the request is made to the 
Court Reporter's Office by 3:00 p.m. on the prior business day.

The Rate for State and Municipal 
Officials applies to any official of the 
state, or any of its agencies, boards or 
commissions or of any municipality of the 
state, acting in his or her official capacity.
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