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INTRODUCTION

This pamphlet is designed to inform you of the 
basic steps in an eviction (summary process) 
action. It is not intended as a substitute for the 
advice of an attorney. The clerk’s office is not 
responsible for any errors or omissions in this 
pamphlet. If you feel you need more information 
or assistance, you should talk to an attorney or 
read the appropriate sections of the Connecticut 
General Statutes and Connecticut Practice Book.



APPEARANCE AND ANSWER

After you are served with an eviction (summary process 
summons and complaint), the first step in representing 
yourself is to file a form known as an Appearance. This 
must be filed at the court clerk’s office no later than 2  
days after the Return Date on your Court Summons. 
Your Appearance lists your name, address, telephone 
number and signature. By filing your Appearance, 
you have taken the first step to contest (challenge) the 
eviction case brought against you by your landlord. 
Your landlord is known as the Plaintiff, and you are 
known as the Defendant.

After filling out your Appearance form (see JD-CL-12 
on page 12), you should then file an Answer to your 
landlord’s complaint. The clerk’s office will give you 
an Answer form. You must read each numbered para-
graph of the landlord’s complaint and check off your 
response on the Answer form (“Agree,” “Disagree” 
or “Do Not Know”). (See JD-HM-5 on page 13.) There 
are also several Special Defenses listed on the Answer 
form. You must check any that apply to you and fill in 
the blanks, as appropriate. Additional comments may 
be written at the bottom of the form. Be sure to sign 
the form.

In addition to filing the original Answer with the court, 
you must also immediately mail a copy of it to your 
landlord or your landlord’s attorney, if there is one. If 
you do not mail a copy, you may automatically lose 
the case. If you have checked any Special Defenses, 
the landlord  must file a Reply to them before a trial 
is scheduled.
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A trial before a judge will be scheduled in your case 
approximately 1 week to 10 days after all pleadings have 
been filed. The clerk’s office will notify you of the trial 
date by mailing you a Notice of Court Hearing.

TRIALS

It is very important that you come to court on the trial 
date listed on the Notice of Court Hearing or you may 
lose your case by default. You must be at the court on 
time. Be sure to bring any witnesses, papers or receipts 
that you may have. This is very important or you may 
lose your case for lack of proof. If a witness will not come 
to court voluntarily, you may apply for a subpoena at 
the clerk’s office. Please do so at least 2 days before the 
scheduled trial date. If a judge grants the application, a 
subpoena will be issued. The subpoena must be served 
on your witness at least 18 hours before your trial date 
and time. The state marshal will charge you a fee to 
serve the subpoena.

On the day of your trial, your case will be announced 
by the courtroom clerk. When your case is called, be 
sure to tell the clerk that you are there. After your case 
is called, you will meet with a Housing Mediator who 
will discuss the case with you and your landlord. The 
Housing Mediator will help you and your landlord work 
out a fair settlement. If you and your landlord agree 
on a settlement, the agreement will be reviewed by the 
judge. If it is approved by the judge, it will be entered 
on the record as a “Stipulated Judgment.” You will be 
given a copy of this, which you should be sure to keep.

2



You are under no obligation to settle your case. If you 
do not work out an agreement, there will be a trial. The 
judge will hear the case and make a decision based on 
all of the evidence. The judge will either announce the 
decision in court or you will be notified by mail.

If you need an interpreter, you must contact the clerk’s 
office at least 2 days before any hearing date.

JUDGMENTS

If the judge decides the case for you, after trial, you may 
stay in the premises. If you lose the case either because 
you did not come to court on the trial date (by default) 
or, after a trial, you will have 5 days to leave the prem-
ises. The date of judgment, Sundays and legal holidays 
are not counted in this 5 day period.

In cases of nonpayment of rent, you can apply to 
the court to stay in the premises for up to 3 more 
months if you cannot find another place to live. In 
order to receive more time, you must do both of the  
following within 5 days from the date of judgment. The 
date of judgment, Sundays and legal holidays are not 
counted in this 5 day period.

A.	 Deposit with the court, in person, the full amount of 
the arrearage (back rent and/or use and occupancy) 
owed to your landlord. This can be paid only by 
certified check or money order payable to Clerk, 
Superior Court, or by cash.

B.	 At the time you pay the full amount of the arrearage, 
you must also fill out and file a Stay of Execution 
Application, which is a form that you may get from 
the clerk’s office.
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A court hearing will then be scheduled on the Stay of 
Execution Application. You will be notified of the date 
and time of hearing either immediately or by mail. At the 
hearing, the exact amount of additional time you may 
stay in the premises, up to a  maximum of 3 months, 
will be decided by the judge.

In cases of termination of lease by lapse of time (“with-
out cause eviction”) or when a previous right or privi-
lege to occupy has terminated, you have the right to 
apply for more time to stay in the premises if you cannot 
find another place to live. You must personally come 
to the court to file a Stay of Execution Application. A 
court hearing will then be scheduled. You will be noti-
fied of the date and time of hearing either immediately 
or by mail.

At the hearing, the exact amount of additional time, up 
to a maximum of 6 months, will be decided by the judge. 

If you do not move voluntarily when your Stay of 
Execution period runs out, or if you have violated 
its conditions, the court may issue an Execution for 
Possession to your landlord. This applies both to Stays 
of Execution ordered by the judge and those worked 
out through an Agreement of the Parties.

If you violate a condition of either type of Stay of 
Execution by not making a required payment, the 
landlord or landlord’s attorney must file an affidavit and 
send a copy to you before an Execution can be issued.
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If you disagree with the landlord’s affidavit, you must 
go to the clerk’s office immediately to file an objec-
tion. If you do nothing, an execution will issue on the 
3rd business day after the filing of the affidavit. Your  
belongings may then be physically removed by the 
state marshal and delivered to a place where they will 
be stored. If your belongings are removed and stored, 
and you do not reclaim them and pay the storage ex-
penses within 15 days, those belongings may be sold 
by the town.

LEGAL AID AND  
LAWYER REFERRAL

If you feel you need additional assistance, legal advice 
or representation, you should contact an attorney. You 
may get an attorney by contacting a Lawyer Referral 
Service office, or, if you qualify, a Legal Aid Office.  
(See page 7 for a listing of these services.)

Note: Only the clerk’s offices of the Housing Sessions 
are authorized to help parties who are representing 
themselves. (Section 51-52(d) of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.) 

5



AGENCY TELEPHONE

LEGAL AID OFFICES

For initial screening of requests for legal assis-
tance from legal aid programs in Connecticut:

STATEWIDE LEGAL SERVICES, INC.
(860) 344-0380

(Hartford, Central Connecticut, Middletown Areas)
1-800-453-3320  

(All Other Regions)

Greater Hartford  
Legal Assistance
Hartford Office:	

(860) 541-5000

New Haven Legal Assis-
tance, Association, Inc.
New Haven Office:

(203) 946-4811

Connecticut Legal  
Services, Inc.
Regional Offices:
Bridgeport				  
New Britain				  
New London				  
Stamford			 
Waterbury				  
Willimantic				  
Satellite Locations:
Danbury				  
Meriden/Middletown			 
Norwalk				  
Norwich				  
Rockville				  

(203) 336-3851
(860) 225-8678
(860) 447-0323
(203) 348-9216
(203) 756-8074
(860) 456-1761

1-800-541-8909
(860) 225-8678
(203) 348-9216
(860) 447-0323
1-800-413-7796

  (860) 541-5000
 1-888-380-3646AIDS Legal Network
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LAWYER REFERRAL 
SERVICE OFFICES

LOCATION TELEPHONE

Fairfield County (203) 335-4116

Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, 
Tolland and Windham Counties

(860) 525-6052

New Haven County (203) 562-5750

New London County	 (860) 889-9384
M/W/F



SUPERIOR COURT  
HOUSING SESSION LOCATIONS

LOCATION TELEPHONE

Waterbury Judicial District  	
Superior Court – 
Housing Session
300 Grand Street
Waterbury, CT  06702

Fairfield Judicial District	
Superior Court – 
Housing Session
1061 Main Street 
Bridgeport, CT  06604

Tel: (203) 579-6936

Fax: (203) 579-7291

Hartford Judicial District	
Superior Court – 
Housing Session
80 Washington Street
Hartford, CT  06106

Tel: (860) 756-7920

Fax: (860) 756-7925

New Britain Judicial District	
Superior Court –  
Housing Session
20 Franklin Square, Room 211
New Britain, CT  06051

Tel: (860) 515-5130

Fax: (860) 515-5138

New Haven Judicial District
Superior Court – 
Housing Session
121 Elm Street
New Haven, CT  06510

Tel: (203) 789-7937

Fax: (203) 773-6795

Stamford/Norwalk
Judicial District 	
Superior Court – 
Housing Session
17 Belden Avenue
Norwalk, CT  06850

Tel: (203) 846-4332

Fax: (203) 750-0881

Tel: (203) 591-3310

Fax: (203) 596-4080
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LOCATION (G.A.) TELEPHONE

GEOGRAPHICAL AREA 
COURT LOCATIONS HANDLING 

HOUSING MATTERS 

G.A. 5
106 Elizabeth Street
Derby, CT 06418

Tel: (203) 735-7438

Fax: (203) 735-2047

G.A. 10
112 Broad Street
New London, CT 06320

Tel: (860) 443-8343

Fax: (860) 437-1168

G.A. 11
120 School Street
Danielson, CT 06239

Tel: (860) 779-8480

Fax: (860) 779-8488

G.A. 18
80 Doyle Road
P.O. Box 667
Bantam, CT 06750

Tel: (860) 567-3942

Fax: (860) 567-3934



LOCATION (J.D.) TELEPHONE

Judicial District at Norwich	
1 Courthouse Square
Norwich, CT  06360

JUDICIAL DISTRICT 
COURT LOCATIONS HANDLING 

HOUSING MATTERS 

Tel: (203) 238-6666

Fax: (203) 238-6322

Judicial District at Meriden	
54 West Main Street
Meriden, CT  06451

Judicial District at Middlesex 
1 Court Street
Middletown, CT  06457-3374

Tel: (860) 343-6400

Fax: (860) 343-6423

Tel: (860) 887-3515

Fax: (860) 887-8643
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Judicial District at Danbury 
146 White Street
Danbury, CT  06810

Tel: (203) 207-8600

Fax: (203) 207-8642

Judicial District at Tolland	
69 Brooklyn Street
Rockville, CT  06066

Tel: (860) 896-4920

Fax: (860) 875-0777
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form continued

Note: If other counsel or a self-represented party has already filed an appearance for the party or parties "x'd" above,  put 
an "x" in box 1 or 2 below:

Please Enter the Appearance of 

Notice To Self-Represented Parties 
A self-represented party is a person who represents himself or herself. If you are a self-
represented party and you filed an appearance before and you have since changed your address, 
you must let the court and all attorneys and self-represented parties of record know that you have 
changed your address by checking the box below:

I certify that a copy of this document was mailed or delivered electronically or non-electronically on (date) to all attorneys

*If necessary, attach an additional sheet or sheets with the name of each party and the address which the copy was mailed or delivered to.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT

www.jud.ct.gov

in the case named above for: ("x" one of the following parties; if this is a Family Matters case, also indicate the scope of your appearance) 

Housing
Session

Judicial
District

APPEARANCE
JD-CL-12 Rev.  9-13 
P.B. §§ 3-1 thru 3-6, 3-8, 10-13, 25A-2

Mailing Address (Number, street) (Notice to attorneys and law firms - The address to which papers will be mailed from the 
court is the one registered or affiliated with your juris number. That address cannot be changed in this form.) 

Telephone number (Area code first)

This appearance is in place of the appearance of the following attorney, 
firm or self-represented party on file (P.B. Sec. 3-8):

Certification

Geographic
Area number

and self-represented parties of record and that written consent for electronic delivery was received from all attorneys and self-represented
parties receiving electronic delivery.

I am filing this appearance to let the court and all attorneys and self-represented 
parties of record know that I have changed my address. My new address is below.

Post office box

Name of self-represented party (See "Notice to Self-Represented Parties" at top), or name of official, firm, professional corporation, or individual 
attorney

Small
Claims

I agree to accept papers (service) electronically in this case under Practice Book Section 10-13

Instructions — See Back/Page 2
ADA Notice — See Back/Page 2

Scheduled Court date (Criminal/Motor Vehicle Matters)

Name of case (Full name of Plaintiff vs. Full name of Defendant)

(Name and Juris Number)

Docket number

Return date

Address of Court (Number, street, town and zip code)

Juris number of attorney or firm

City/town State Zip code Fax number (Area code first) E-mail address

Signed (Signature of filer)

Signed (Individual attorney or self-represented party) Name of person signing at left (Print or type) Date signed

Date signed

For Court Use Only

The Plaintiff (includes the person suing another person).
All Plaintiffs.
The following Plaintiff(s) only:
The Defendant (includes the person being sued or charged with a crime).
The Defendant for the purpose of the bail hearing only (in criminal and motor vehicle cases only).
All Defendants. 
The following Defendant(s) only:
Other (Specify):
This is a Family Matters case and my appearance is for: ("x" one or both) 

matters in the Family Division of the Superior Court Title IV-D Child Support matters

Name and address of each party and attorney that copy was mailed or delivered to*

This appearance is in addition to an appearance already on file. 

Yes No

Print or type name of person signing Telephone number

1.

2.
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1. Type or print. 
2. For Criminal and Motor Vehicle cases: Fill out the form, 

including the certification section at the bottom of the 
form. File the original with the clerk. Mail or deliver a copy 
of the appearance to the prosecutor. (Sections 3-4(d) and 
3-5 of the Connecticut Practice Book)

 3. For Civil , Eviction (Summary Process), and Small 
Claims cases: Fill out the form, including the certification 
section at the bottom of the form. File the original with the 
clerk. Mail or deliver a copy to all counsel and self-
represented parties of record. If a party who has been 
defaulted for failure to appear files an appearance before 
the entry of judgment after default, the default will 
automatically be set aside by the clerk. (Sections 3-4(a), 
3-4(b), 3-5 and 17-20 of the Connecticut Practice Book)

4. For Family cases: Fill out the form, including the 
certification section at the bottom of the form. In addition

     to selecting plaintiff or defendant, indicate the scope of 
your appearance. File the original with the clerk. Mail or 
deliver a copy to all counsel and self-represented parties 
of record. (Sections 3-4(a) and 3-5 of the Connecticut 
Practice Book)

 5. For Juvenile cases: Do not use this form. Use form 
JD-JM-13 Appearance, Juvenile Matters. 

6. For Self-represented parties who have changed their 
address after filing an appearance: Check the box at 
the top of the other side or page 1 of this form. Fill out the 
form, including your new address in the Mailing Address 
section of this form. Fill out the certification section at the 
bottom of the form. File the original with the clerk. Mail or 
deliver a copy to all counsel and self-represented parties 
of record or, in a criminal case, to the prosecutor. 

Instructions

 JD-CL-12  (Back/Page 2)  Rev. 9-13

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the 
ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.



Distribution :          Original - Court File Copy 1 - Plaintiff (Landlord) or Attorney Copy 2 - Defendant (Tenant)

at:

SUMMARY PROCESS (EVICTION) 
ANSWER TO COMPLAINT 
JD-HM-5    Rev. 4-15 
C.G.S. §§ 47a-4a, 47a-5, 47a-7, 47a-20, 47a-20e, 47a-23c, 47a-33, 47a-57, 49-31p

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

Section 1 — Summary Process (Eviction) Answer
(This section does not apply to Special Defenses below)

Additional Information:

code violations in violation of Connecticut Law (Section 47a-7(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes). List violations below.

(Section 47a-23a of the Connecticut General Statutes.)

Section 2 — Special Defenses (Facts that show the court that the plaintiff has no legal right to what the plaintiff has requested
in this case.)

"x" the boxes next to the statements below that apply to you and fill in the information requested.

Defendant's (Tenant's) Certification

which was before the date I received the Notice to Quit.

of the violations listed in number 3 above on (date): 

to complain about my apartment (Sections 47a-20 and 47a-33 of the Connecticut General Statutes).

For each numbered paragraph of the landlord's Complaint, please "x" whether you Agree, Disagree or Do Not Know.

Housing
Session

Geographical
Area Number

Judicial
District

Docket number

Return date

Name of Plaintiff(s)  (Landlord(s)) Name of Defendant(s)  (Tenant(s))

Address of Court  (Number, street, and town)

1. Agree Disagree Do Not Know
2. Agree Disagree Do Not Know
3. Agree Disagree Do Not Know
4. Agree Disagree Do Not Know

5. Agree Disagree Do Not Know
6. Agree Disagree Do Not Know
7. Agree Disagree Do Not Know
8. Agree Disagree Do Not Know

All rent has been paid to my landlord.
Rent was offered to my landlord on (date):
No rent is due, under Connecticut Law (section 47a-4a of the Connecticut General Statutes) because there are housing or health 

I notified my landlord, Housing Code, the Health Department, or the Building Department

This eviction is being brought because I contacted my landlord or public officials or agencies

I filed a rent increase complaint with the Fair Rent Commission on (date):
I live in a building or complex with 5 units or more or in a mobile manufactured home park and

(See Notice on back/page 2 of this form) This eviction was brought after a foreclosure action, and
I have a written lease that is still in effect or
I never received a 90 day letter (notice) before the notice to quit was delivered (served).

I have a physical or mental disability, or
I am 62 years old or older, or
my spouse, sibling, parent or grandparent is 62 years old or older and permanently lives with me, or
my spouse, sibling, parent or grandparent has a physical or mental disability and permanently lives with me.

I certify that a copy of this document was mailed or delivered electronically or non-electronically on (date) to all attorneys 
and self-represented parties of record and that written consent for electronic delivery was received from all attorneys and self-represented
parties receiving electronic delivery.

*If necessary, attach additional sheet or sheets with name and address which the copy was mailed or delivered to. (Use form JD-CV-67, Continuation of Parties)
Signed (Individual attorney or self-represented party)

Name and address of each party and attorney that copy was mailed or delivered to*

Print or type name of person signing

Mailing address Telephone number

a.
b.
c.

d.

e.

f.
g.

h.

form continued
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JD-HM-5  Rev. 4-15 (back/page2)

Notice
Connecticut General Statutes Section 49-31p provides:

(a) In the case of any foreclosure on a federally-related mortgage loan or on any dwelling or residential real property that has
a return date on or after July 13, 2011, but not later than December 31, 2017, any immediate successor in interest in 
such property pursuant to the foreclosure shall assume such interest subject to
(1) the provision, by such successor in interest, of a notice to vacate to any bona fide tenant not less than 90 days before 
the effective date of such notice; and
(2) the rights of any bona fide tenant, as of the date absolute title vests in such successor in interest 

(A) under any bona fide lease entered into before such date to occupy the premises until the end of the remaining 
term of the lease, except that a successor in interest may terminate a lease effective on the date of sale of the unit to 
a purchaser who will occupy the unit as a primary residence, subject to the receipt by the tenant of the 90-day notice 
under subdivision (1) of this subsection; or 
(B) without a lease or with a lease terminable at will under state law, subject to the receipt by the tenant of the 90-day 
notice under subdivision (1) of this subsection 

except that nothing under this section shall affect the requirements for termination of any federally subsidized or state-
subsidized tenancy or of any state or local law that provides longer time periods or other additional protections for 
tenants.

(b) For purposes of this section, a lease or tenancy shall be considered bona fide only if (1) the mortgagor or the child, 
spouse, or parent of the mortgagor under the contract is not the tenant, (2) the lease or tenancy was the result of an 
arms-length transaction, and (3) the lease or tenancy requires the receipt of rent that is not substantially less than fair 
market rent for the property or the unit's rent is reduced or subsidized due to a federal, state or local subsidy. 

(c)  For purposes of this section, the term “federally-related mortgage loan” has the same meaning as in 12 USC 2602(1), the 
Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act of 1974. For purposes of this section, the date of a notice of foreclosure shall be 
deemed to be the date on which complete title to a property is transferred to a successor entity or person as a result of 
an order of a court or pursuant to provisions in a mortgage, deed of trust or security deed.

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in 
accordance with the ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person 
listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.
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