History of the Connecticut Judicial Seal Home Home BannerBanner


  Connecticut Bar Examining Committee
Admission by Examination July 2021
Instructions, Forms and Requirements

Be sure you read and understand the rules of the Superior Court and the regulations of the Bar Examining Committee governing Admission to the Connecticut bar.


Attorney Links


July 2021 Instructions & Forms  |  February 2021 Instructions & Forms

star star Important Information Regarding the July 2021 Connecticut Bar Examination star star

The July 2021 Connecticut bar examination will be administered by REMOTE examination to be held on July 27 and 28, 2021. The examination will be a full Uniform Bar Examination and will result in a Uniform Bar Examination score. Additional details regarding the examination will be posted as they become available. The application filing period, filing fees, and applicable deadlines for the July 2021 bar examination are listed below.

  • First day to file for July 2021 exam: March 1, 2021
  • First application filing deadline: (filing fee $800): March 31, 2021
  • Final application filing deadline: (filing fee $900): April 30, 2021
  • Non-standard testing petition filing deadline: April 30, 2021
  • Application filing fee: By certified check or money order only
    • $800.00 if application filed March 1 - March 31, 2021
    • $900.00 if application filed April 1 – April 30, 2021


1. July 2021 Remote Bar Examination Schedule & Deadlines

Date  Deadline
March 1, 2021 Monday First day to file for July 2021 exam
March 31, 2021 Wednesday First Application Filing Deadline
April 30, 2021 Friday Final Application Filing Deadline
April 30, 2021 Friday Non-standard testing petition filing deadline
July 21, 2021 Wednesday

Deadline for receipt of proof of law degree (JD & LL.M.) and NCBE number

July 27, 2021 Tuesday Multistate Performance Test and Multistate Essay Examination (Article V-4, CBEC Regulations)
July 28, 2021 Wednesday Multistate Bar Examination
September 20, 2021 Monday Deadline to complete your application in order to be eligible for the first group of applicants to be sworn-in
September 24, 2021 Friday Release of results
April 4, 2022 Monday Deadline to request an extension of time to complete application
May 2, 2022 Monday Application completion deadline

2. Eligibility requirement – approved law degree.
To be eligible to sit for the July 2021 examination you must have:

  1. Received your JD degree by July 21, 2021, from an approved law school (Article II, CBEC Regulations). You will not be permitted to sit for the July 2021 bar examination unless your certification and final transcript are received by the Committee by July 21, 2021; or
  2. An approved foreign legal education, and an LL.M. degree from an approved law school by July 21, 2021 (Article II-3, CBEC Regulations).Foreign legal educated applicants will not be permitted to sit for the July 2021 bar examination unless your final transcript and course descriptions for your LL.M. degree are received by the Committee by July 21, 2021.

Your law school dean must complete the Certificate of Dean of Law School (Form 4) only after you have received your degree and must attach a final, official transcript of your grades (transcript must show date degree was conferred) and a copy of your application for admission to law school. Your law school may require you to execute a special document to permit them to forward your transcript and application.

3. Filing deadline.
The final filing deadline for the July 2021 bar examination is April 30, 2021. Article III-1 of the CBEC Regulations defines "filed" as the date the application is RECEIVED (not the date it is postmarked). Applications must be submitted with the correct fee of $800.00 if filed between March 1, 2021 and March 31, 2021; or $900.00 if filed between April 1, 2021 and April 30, 2021, in the proper form (CERTIFIED CHECK OR MONEY ORDER ONLY). Applications submitted with the incorrect fee amount will not be processed and will be returned to the applicant. Applications cannot be filed on-line or via fax or via e-mail. If you would like a receipt indicating that you have met the filing deadline, include the postcard receipt found below with the proper postage affixed. If proper postage is not affixed, the postcard will not be returned to you.

To be considered filed you must complete and file all of the following: Download forms from list below

Check Form Number and Title
 [    ] Form 1E - Application
 [    ] Form 5 - Status Sheet
 [    ] Form 6 - Application forms filing checklist
 [    ] Form 12 - Address labels
 [    ] Form 14 - Summary sheet
[    ] Certified check or money order payable to “Connecticut Bar Examining Committee.” (the Bar Examining Committee does not accept credit cards, personal, corporate or law firm checks)
  • First filing deadline: $800 (if RECEIVED March 1, 2021 – March 31, 2021)
  • Final filing deadline: $900 (if RECEIVED April 1, 2021 – April 30, 2021)

If applicable to you, you may also have to file the following:

Check Form Number and Title
[    ] Form 2 - Additional Response Page
[    ] Form 15 - Non-Standard Testing Notification
[    ] Form 26a - Military Service

Retain a copy of everything you file with the Committee.

You should mail your application well in advance of the filing deadline to allow adequate transit time and you should plan to file as early as possible to allow time to correct problems.

4. Where to file.
Submit your application, fee and supporting documents to:

Connecticut Bar Examining Committee
July 2021 Application Department
100 Washington Street, 1st Floor
Hartford, Connecticut  06106-4411

Office hours: Monday - Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm*
*except state holidays

5. Typed answers.
Other than the "checkboxes" which may be completed by hand, and the handwriting exemplar which MUST be completed by hand, your answers on the bar application must be typed or completed by other electronic means.

6. How to answer the questions.
Answer all questions fully and frankly. If a question does not apply, so indicate. Do not leave any questions blank unless specifically authorized by the question. You are encouraged to attach a narrative response to any appropriate question (e.g. to explain a student loan default disclosed in Question #35). Use Form 2 if you need additional space to answer any question.

7. Time limits on bar application questions.
Note that time limitations apply to certain questions on the application. An occurrence, otherwise disclosable, but beyond the time limitation, need not be disclosed.

8. Complete answers. If a question requires you to list information, be certain to provide all the information requested. Do not merely refer to attached documents.
You must respond to the question as asked.

9. Complete addresses.
Provide complete addresses (including zip codes) where required.

10. Signature/acknowledgment.
Be sure your application is signed and notarized. Note that your application is a sworn statement and is treated as such. Please put your name on your remittance.

11. Acknowledgment of receipt by CBEC.
You will normally receive notification of the receipt of your application within 15 days of receipt by the administrative office. This is not a statement of eligibility to sit for the examination. You will receive notice of eligibility and test site assignment about two (2) weeks before the examination, but only after timely receipt in the administrative office of proof that you have received your law degree. Keep the notice of test site assignment for future reference.

12. Correspondence with the CBEC/address change.
Indicate on all correspondence that you are a July 2021 examination applicant. Please notify the Committee in writing of any change in your address otherwise important notices may not get to you in a timely fashion.

13. MBE score transfer.
Beginning with the July 2019 examination, the CBEC will not accept transferred MBE scores. All applicants taking the bar exam in Connecticut must sit for the MPT, MEE, and the MBE in Connecticut during the same administration of the exam and will receive a UBE score. Any applicant who does not attend all four sessions of the exam will be deemed withdrawn and will not receive exam results.

Score Transfers FROM Connecticut to Another Jurisdiction:

The Bar Examining Committee may transfer MBE scores obtained in Connecticut. It is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure that the transfer request form (Form 47) and the proper fee are received in the Committee’s office in time to meet the transfer deadline set by the jurisdiction to which the score will be transferred.

14. Non-standard testing/TDD.
If you have a disability which will require special assistance or accommodations on the bar examination, you must advise the Committee at the time you file your application and file a complete Petition For Test Accommodations no later than April 30, 2021 (forms available on the Committee's website). Hearing and speech-impaired applicants with a TDD can contact the Bar Examining Committee through the Converse Communication Corporation (CCC) which provides relay message services between TDD and non-TDD users: 711 or 1-800-842-9710.

15. MPRE/professional responsibility course.
The Professional Responsibility requirement must be satisfied within four years prior to the date you file your application or within one year after the date you file your application, in either of two ways (see CBEC Regulations Article IV for details):

(a) by passing the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) with a scaled score of at least 80;
(you can register for the MPRE on-line External Link - You are leaving the Connecticut Judicial Branch website  or

(b) by obtaining a grade of "C" or better in a course on Professional Responsibility at an approved law school (CLE courses are NOT acceptable)..

16. Special note to applicants who have taken the New York bar examination.
It is not necessary to file a copy of the Applicant's Affidavit which you filed (or will file) to sit for the New York Bar Examination. It is necessary to submit a copy of your application for admission to the New York Bar which is filed with the Appellate Division after you have passed the New York bar examination.

17. Sample answers/sample questions.
The Bar Examining Committee prepares a booklet of sample answers to a past bar examination. The booklet contains all questions from a recent written examination and seven sample answers to each question. 
A limited number of booklets for February 2014 and later are available for $35.00 per booklet. The performance test and essay questions are available on the Committee's website. More information...

18. Character and fitness review.
Passing the bar examination is only one step in the admission process and does not automatically entitle the candidate to practice law in Connecticut. The Committee begins the review of a candidate's character and fitness immediately upon the filing of the application for admission to the bar. However, the Committee will usually conduct a hearing only after the candidate has taken and passed the bar examination and the candidate's file is complete. While the Committee attempts to have all eligible candidates admitted at the group ceremony, a candidate whose application presents complex or unresolved issues of character and/or fitness will not be admitted until such issues have been resolved to the Committee's satisfaction. On occasion, disclosures in a candidate’s file will necessitate review of medical documentation. Protocol followed by the Committee in such cases - PDF |  More information...

19. Credit Inquiry.
As a part of the routine background investigation into each applicant’s character and fitness to practice law in Connecticut, our office will pull a credit profile from TransUnion. If there are negative items found on the credit report, the applicant will receive a letter along with the pertinent portions of the report with the relevant items highlighted. Applicants who receive such a letter are expected to address each negative item.

20. Conduct that creates a presumption of lack of good moral character.
The Committee calls to your attention Article VI-11 of the CBEC Regulations concerning conduct which creates a presumption of lack of good moral character. It is the policy of the Committee to view any conduct which comes under that section as a serious character and fitness matter. For example, a candidate who is in arrears or default in any child support obligations will have his/her application placed in abeyance until the arrearage or default has been corrected.

21. Selective Service Registration.
You can obtain information on the registration requirements and obtain your registration number at http://www.sss.gov.External Link - You are leaving the Connecticut Judicial Branch website In brief, men born from March 29, 1957 to December 31, 1959 were never required to register because the registration program was not in operation at the time they turned 18. The requirement to register was reinstated in 1980 and applies to all men born on or after January 1, 1960.

22. Employer References.
The Committee suggests that you send all Form 11’s by certified mail, return receipt requested. (The return receipt should go back to you in the first instance, not the Bar Examining Committee.) In that case, if a previous employer fails to submit the Form 11, you can establish that you sent the form by submitting the original signed return receipt postcard (“green card”) or, in the alternative, the original mailing receipt attached to the www.USPS.com printout showing the item was delivered.

23. Driving Histories/No Record Letters (Question 45).
Please refer to the following link for a list of U.S. Driving Record Repositories. You must contact the repositories directly to determine whether information has changed. If you are unable to obtain a driving history from a jurisdiction, you should request either a "no record" letter or a "no hit" letter. You may need to obtain this from the jurisdiction's main DMV office. Some local offices cannot generate this sort of report. For foreign driving histories, you can contact the country's consular office in the US and they can usually find the information (forms, cost and address) for you. Please refer to the following link for additional guidance on obtaining Foreign Driving Histories. You must contact the repositories directly to determine whether information has changed. Original driving records and no record or no hit letters must be received in the CBEC Administrative Office no later than sixty (60) days after issuance for jurisdictions in which an applicant is currently licensed and/or currently resides (whether permanent or temporary).

24. Certificates of Good Standing.
You must contact the jurisdiction(s) in which you are currently or were licensed to practice law and request a certificate of good standing. If you are unable to secure a certificate of good standing, then you must request a letter from the jurisdiction(s) setting forth your current status. Original certificates of good standing and letters of current status must be received in the CBEC Administrative Office no later than thirty (30) days after issuance.

25. NCBE Number.

The National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) requires the creation of an NCBE account by those wishing to use its services.This number is also used as the unique identifier for the Multistate Bar Examination (MBE).You will not be permitted to sit for the July 2021 bar examination unless your NCBE Number is received by the Committee by July 21, 2021. If you do not have an NCBE Number, you must create one. More information, including how to obtain or retrieve an NCBE Number can be found here.External Link

26. July 2021 Application Forms and Instructions. See How to use Acrobat® fillable forms.

Form Number


Fillable PDF
1E Application
  • (First filing deadline 3/31/2021)
  • (Final filing deadline 4/30/2021)
2 Additional Response Page (use this form if there is insufficient space on the application to answer fully any question; photocopy as necessary.) 2.pdf
3 Amendment - (use this form to amend an answer on your application after it has been filed); photocopy as necessary.) 3.pdf
4 Certificate of Dean of Law School 4.pdf
5 Status Sheet 5.pdf
6 Application Forms Filing Checklist 6.pdf
10 Personal reference form 10.pdf
11 Employer reference form 11.pdf
12 Address labels 12.pdf
12a Residences - continuation page 12a.pdf
13 Address change labels 13.pdf
14 Summary sheets 14.pdf
15 Non-standard Testing Notification 15.pdf
16a Education - continuation page 16a.pdf
17a Employment - continuation page 17a.pdf
26a Military service 26a.pdf
Form 45a Driving Records – continuation page 45a.pdf
Form 47 MBE Transfer Form (To transfer a score FROM Connecticut) 47.pdf
Form 99 Authorization to Release Medical Records 99.pdf
Affidavit Form Affidavit Affidavit
NCBE   NCBE MBE Transfer FormExternal Link
Postcard Receipt OPTIONAL - If proper postage is not affixed, this card will not be returned to you Postcard.pdf

The results of the July 2021 bar examination will be available on the internet at approximately 12 noon on Friday, September 24, 2021 at https://www.jud.ct.gov/CBEC/results.htm.



Connecticut Judicial Branch Website Links:

Attorneys | Case Look-up | Courts | Directories | Educational Resources | E-Services | Español | FAQs | Juror Information | Media | Opinions | Opportunities | Self-Help | Home

Common Legal Words | Contact Us | Site Map | Website Policies and Disclaimers

Copyright © 2016, State of Connecticut Judicial Branch