Connecticut Bar Examining
Frequently Asked Questions about Admission to the Connecticut bar
Educational qualifications to take the bar examination. To qualify to take the bar examination you must have a JD from an approved law school,or foreign legal education approved by the Bar Examining Committee pursuant to Art. II-3 of the CBEC regulations. All ABA-approved law schools are also approved by the Committee. In addition, the Committee has approved the Massachusetts School of Law. Non-approved law degrees or LLM degrees do not qualify. (An exam applicant who (1) has been admitted in another state, DC, Puerto Rico or a US District Court for at least 10 years, AND (2) has actually practiced law in that jurisdiction for five of the last seven years, AND (3) intends actively to practice law in Connecticut AND (4) intends to devote the major portion of the applicants working time to the practice of law in Connecticut may sit for the bar examination without meeting these educational qualifications.)
Educational qualification for admission without examination. All applicants for admission without examination must have a JD from an approved law school, or foreign legal education approved by the Bar Examining Committee pursuant to Art. II-3 of the CBEC regulations. All ABA-approved law schools are also approved by the Committee. In addition, the Committee has approved the Massachusetts School of Law. Non-approved law degrees or LLM degrees do not qualify.
How do I satisfy the Professional Responsibility requirement?
The four year age limit for a valid MPRE score does not apply to applicants for admission without examination who are full-time faculty members or full-time clinical fellows at an accredited Connecticut law school.
3. Transferring an MBE Score
4. Can I take the
admission oaths outside of Connecticut?
Connecticut Judicial Branch Libraries – Finding Legal Help
7. Where do I get a certificate of good standing?
Certificates of good standing are available from either the:
Note that for some purposes, a certificate is required from the highest court of the jurisdiction in which the attorney is admitted – requests for such certificates must be made to the Clerk of the Superior Court, Hartford Judicial District. For some purposes, a certificate is required from the disciplinary authority in the jurisdiction in which the attorney is admitted – requests for such certificates must be made to the Statewide Grievance Committee. Finally, for some purposes, separate certificates are required from the highest court and from the disciplinary authority – separate requests must be submitted to both Clerk of the Superior Court, Hartford Judicial District, and to the Statewide Grievance Committee.
Requests to the Statewide Grievance Committee must be in writing and must include the attorney’s name, address, daytime telephone number, juris number, and a copy of the attorney’s last attorney registration form (see Practice Book §2-27 (d) and (e), and §2-65). If the attorney requesting a certificate from the Statewide Grievance Committee does not submit a copy of their last attorney registration form, they must state in their request they are not submitting it, together with an explanation why it is not included.
The cost of a plain certificate of good standing from the Clerk of the Superior Court or the Statewide Grievance Committee is $10. A certificate of good standing with disciplinary history statement from the Statewide Grievance Committee is $20. Checks or money orders for certificates obtained from the Clerk of the Superior Court should be made payable to “Clerk, Superior Court.” Checks or money orders for certificates obtained from the Statewide Grievance Committee should be made payable to “State of Connecticut Judicial Branch.”
8. After I have been admitted to the bar, when will I receive my juris number and when can I begin to practice law?
Approximately 15 days after the Statewide Grievance Committee is notified by the clerk of the court where your swearing-in took place, you will receive a notice containing your juris number. You need this number to file an appearance in court, but you are otherwise able to practice law immediately after you have been sworn in as an attorney in Connecticut.
9. When can I use “Attorney” or “Esq.” with my name?
The Statewide Grievance Committee has held that the use of the title “Attorney” or “Esq.”, or any similar title, by one not admitted to the Connecticut bar may constitute a violation of C.G.S. §51-88. Generally unless you are admitted to the Connecticut bar, you should not use the title “Attorney” or "Esq.”
10. How do I contact the Bar Examining Committee?
You can reach the Committee at this address:
12. U.S. Driving Record Repositories (PDF)
13. Foreign Driving Histories - Additional countries will be added as they become available.
The Connecticut Bar Examining Committee (CBEC) will request Connecticut and Federal background checks for all applicants. You must submit your fingerprints and the proper fees to CBEC so that a request can be made. Detailed instructions on submitting your fingerprints and the proper fees to CBEC can be found in the following document: Background Check Instructions. Background checks received from applicants will NOT be accepted. Those who have previously filed an application for admission in CT should check their first status sheet in order to determine whether the background checks must be updated.
The following documents will be sent to applicants with their first status sheets and should be reviewed prior to submitting your fingerprints and fees to CBEC.
15. Are there any other websites to obtain further information?
16. Reinstatement after Suspension, Disbarment or Resignation