History of the Connecticut Judicial Seal Home Home BannerBanner

Connecticut Bar Examining Committee
100 Washington Street
Hartford, Connecticut 06106-4411
Telephone: 860-706-5135
Hearing and speech-impaired applicants: 711 or 1-800-842-9710
E-mail the Bar Examining Committee
Office Hours: Monday-Friday  8:30am-4:30pm*
*except state holidays

Attorney Links

July 2015 Bar Exam Results
star Computer-Based Testing  

The Connecticut Bar Examining Committee was established in 1891. Practice Book Rule 2-3 provides for a Committee of twenty-four members charged with the responsibility of determining whether candidates are qualified to be admitted to the Connecticut bar. The Committee prepares and administers the bar examination and investigates the character and fitness of each candidate for admission. The Committee recommends to the court those who have passed the bar examination, possess good moral character, and have complied with the rules of court and the regulations of the Committee governing admission to the bar.

Disclaimer: The information on this website is intended to provide useful information for the general public and for persons who are potential applicants. It is of necessity abbreviated at times. It also provides other information on matters related to admission to the bar. If there is any conflict between any language on this website and the Rules of the Superior Court (Rules) and/or the Regulations of the Bar Examining Committee (Regulations) Governing Admission to the Bar, then the Rules and/or Regulations govern. All applicants should review the Rules of the Superior Court (Rules) and/or the Regulations of the Bar Examining Committee (Regulations) Governing Admission to the Bar prior to filing an application for admission to the bar.

Exam dates Exam site Results date
28/29 July 2015 CT Convention Center in Hartford 2 October 2015
23/24 February 2016 CoCo Key Water Resort Hotel & Convention Center 6 May 2016
26/27 July 2016 CT Convention Center in Hartford 30 September 2016

Bar Examining Committee Officers and Members

Hon. Anne C. Dranginis, Chair, Litchfield (Ret.)
Michael J. Whelton, Vice-chair, East Hartford
Denise Martino Phelan, Treasurer, Hartford
Irving H. Perlmutter, Secretary, New Haven
Cynthia Baer, Rockville
Richard F. Banbury, Hartford
Raymond L. Baribeault, Jr., New London
Deborah L. Bradley, Rocky Hill
Kevin C. Connors, Willimantic
Earl F. Dewey II, Hartford
Hon. Nina Elgo, Hartford
Edward J. Gavin, Bridgeport
Eric M. Gross, Bridgeport
Karen L. Karpie, Bridgeport
Adam Mantzaris, Wallingford
Hon. C. Ian McLachlan, Hartford (Ret.)
Gail McTaggart, Waterbury
David A. Moraghan, Torrington
Sharon A. Peters, Portland
Robert D. Silva, Hartford
Alix Simonetti, New Haven
Hon. Elliot N. Solomon, Hartford
Frederic S. Ury, Fairfield
Matthew Wax-Krell, Hartford

Administrative Office

Kathleen B. Harrington, Deputy Director, Attorney Services Jessica F. Kallipolites, Administrative Director
Lisa Valko, Assistant Administrative Director

CBEC Site Map


Connecticut Judicial Branch Website Links:

Attorneys | Case Look-up | Courts | Directories | Educational Resources | E-Services | Español | FAQs | Juror Information | Media | Opinions | Opportunities | Self-Help | Home

Common Legal Words | Contact Us | Site Map | Website Policies and Disclaimers

Copyright © 2015, State of Connecticut Judicial Branch